Dome depicting Holy Trinity
photo by Architect Cai
Shanghai Real Estate Science Research Institute undertook the restoration of Orthodox Church's wall painting this year following the requirement of municipal bureau of housing, land and resources administration. Orthodox Church is Byzantium architectural style built in 1933, which is situated at Xin Le road and Xiang Yang road (N). The church interior wall is simple, but between arch ceiling and wall, there hid 9 elegant paintings covered by plaster during past repairs. The institute organized researchers from different majors to establish special study team, to seek special restoration and protection materials for the wall painting, adopt a special restoration technique, under the condition of not to damage original wall and painting, it restored the wall painting successfully in the end of September, which made 9 paintings hid by plaster nearly half century reappear its splendid color. The wall painting restoration done by Institute is appraised by the professionals.
Occupying the space in the central dome, one
can see vivid colors of a unique fresco of the Christ Child sitting at
the bosom of the Father with the Holy Spirit descending upon Christ in
the form of the dove surrounded by angels. This representation of the
Holy Trinity also known as "Ancient of Days" replaces the normal depiction of Christ Pantocraktor in the
dome. Further below the dome are depicted eight saints most likely from the Old Testament, and are commemorated as a group by the Orthodox Church on the Sunday of the Holy Forefathers.
Viewing clockwise from northwest to southwest are frescoes described as follows:
from Smith Family, November 2, 2007